Some words on a YouTube video…and Facebook

In looking at all of Dr. M’s videos in the content section of D2L (anyone miss Blackboard??), I was struck most by the video A Vision of Students Today.  If you haven’t watched it yet, I’d take a few minute….

I think what hit me harder than anything was the amount of TIME students spend using media such as TV, Internet, phones, etc. vs books!  I really think that when I get into my own classroom environment, I’d like to capture that time my students have in front of computer.

I’ve been kicking around the idea of using Facebook as a way to squeeze more classtime in for the students.  It would be a purely education facebook page–“Mr. Kephart’s Page”–on which they can post questions to my wall, and I will update daily assignments, as well as provide them with videos/pics/audio to look at.  I don’t think I’ll be able to make it a required item though–because not everyone will have internet access outside of class, etc.

I found an outline with some suggestions about using Facebook as an educator.  There’s even a Facebook Page for Educators using Facebook.

Can anyone think of negative consequences to using Facebook as an educator?

Till next time!

Matt

4 Comments »

  1. Hey Matt,
    How’s it going? Yes I do miss BB! This is a bit more difficult to navigate and not quite as user friendly-in my opinion. Loved your Blog-great stuff! I’m a bit intimidated to begin mine but no time like the present-right?
    Regarding your Face book question…I heard that there was a student teacher who utilized Face book as a means to “get to know his students better”. Well our district either thought he crossed a teacher/student line or something was misconstrued…but he was relieved of his student teaching position.! Personally-I think it’s a great way to get to know your students. It is a public forum, so everyone does/should have access to it. I guess I would be cautious about the whole thing until you get the blessing of your district superiors. Maybe someday the future can be properly integrated into the classroom. I also was very impressed with the KU students video regarding use of technology. In a way, it’s a bit scary how much time is spent or possibly wasted using tech. Especially the two students that referred to having her laptop in class but NOT doing class stuff …and 2.7 hrs per day on the cell phone! Jeeze-if that were my kids face on there, I think I would croak! Any way nice job all around. Lovely wedding pix too, rockin’ ax as well! Guess I’ll take the plunge!

  2. 517rja Said:

    Matt,
    Your right about the video! I don’t know if its a good or bad thing for kids to have that much exposure. However, without their gadgets they won’t survive on “Man vs. Wild”.

  3. cupprof Said:

    Great, though-provoking post Matt. I worry about the personal nature of Facebook, potentially causing a line to be crossed that maybe shouldn’t be crossed. Having said that, I think Facebook has some wonderful opportunities, but teachers “friending” all their students has potential for disaster. However, having a fan page and having students “like” the fan page would be different and may work. It’s definitely an issued that needs explored!

    Excellent post!
    ~John

  4. […] August 1, 2010 @ 11:08 pm } · { Uncategorized } As I stated in a previous post, I am very interested in being able to capture the time my futures students spend on social media […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

